Space Tourism Research!

Topic locked
Space Tourism Research! Sep 29, 2011
Hello everyone! :D

As I've mentioned in my introduction thread, I'm a student of Emirates Aviation College, and I'm currently undergoing a research involving Space Tourism. I was wondering - what do you guys think about it?

Dubai is currently aimed toward being one of the space hubs of the world. They're planning to build a space port under Virgin Galactic's name, as well as partner up with Bigelow Aerospace in order to help extend their knowledge, technology, and research out to space travel and space in general.

Virgin Galactic tickets reach up to $200,000 (which is rumored to drop down to $23,000 after a couple of years). Do you guys think it's fair? Is Space Tourism a bad idea, or a good idea? What do you think?

I have a questionnaire available, and if anyone is interested in giving more of their thoughts in, please notify me and I'll send it to ya! Much, much appreciated, guys! :)

Good day, and thanks!

LouieStudent
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Re: Space Tourism Research! Sep 29, 2011
Space tourism is a really tempting and interesting idea, but how about the environmental impact? Do you have any info on the volume of fuel needed per trip and how much each trip contributes to the large volume of space junk currently orbiting the earth? Feel free to send me the questionnaire by PM. Thanks!
kanelli
Miss DubaiForums 2006

Thanks for your interest and participation, kanelli! :D I sent the research questionnaire through pm.

Apparently, Richard Branson assures the public that they will make sure to focus on using environmentally friendly fuel, but there is much speculation at this point. It is certainly one of the public's concerns!
LouieStudent
Dubai Expat Wannabe