Emirates Driving Institute

Topic locked
Emirates Driving Institute Sep 25, 2006
Get a driving Licinse in this country is one of the annoying pain in the ar$e exeprience anyone can ever have unless u r lucky and have a driving license from a country of these countries considered the 1st world countries then it will be a piece of cake.

Here comes my story as I'm not a holder of 1st world country driving License i had to take a driving test, and there are 2 ways of doing getting a private instructor or taking a course in one of the local driving school. By the way if you choose either u r 80% likely to fail the 1st time and for woman they are more likely to pass from the 1st time.

Anyway I chose Emirated Driving Institute ( EDI ). Since i have been driving for 11 yrs and drove in a couple of countries around the world i thought all i need is a crash course which is between 6 to 12 classes but to get into these short courses u have to take a preliminary test, which i have taken and they decided i need 8 classes.

Here is what I paid at this stage:
60 dhs Preliminary Test
50 dhs Opening a file in the traffic dept.
30 dhs Signals Lecture
70 dhs Admission fees
480 dhs Driving classes (60 dhs each)
50 dhs for a Signals test
Total of 740 dhs and I didn't take one lesson yet. And you can't start your classes until u pass ur signals test and you can't take the test unless they stamp you papers saying that u attended the lecture weither you need it or not. So u take the lecture and have to go another day to book the signals test which will be after a week or so. The signal test it self is a very easy u can easily answer all the questions correctly under 2 mins and the test time is 10 mins.
Finally i took my test passed and said to myself a week from now i'll be driving around with my new license flashing at everyone i see :D :D
After i finished my classes which took me 3 weeks to finish and my instructor told me I'm ready, I booked the test and it was 5 days later.