The Software Industry In Dubai?

Topic locked
the Software Industry in Dubai? Jan 13, 2009
Hi, I am new to this forum. Does anybody here happen to know something about the software industry in Dubai? Does persons here use craked programs a lot? We are planning to set up an office to promote our software. Thank you in advance

cad_haochen
Dubai Expat Wannabe

Jan 14, 2009
there is no software industry in Dubai ?
I have no idea ?? I'm a 3D artist and well it takes far longer then it should to purchase an recieve full version software here for the project I'm working on...

I have not used cracked software in many MANY years ( it's too cheap Not to just buy it ) and but it seem no one takes software or they Skills seriously here ??
pete t
Dubai Forums Enthusiast

Jan 16, 2009
@pete
@ cad

Hello Guys,

There is software industry in dubai. But not mature like in the US or India.
Companies do develop softwares here, but mostly they target the local clients. They are not so widespread alike markets in other countries.

Most of the IT companies here are resellers of products developed abroad.

Although Dubai's Media City & Internet City is quiet well known to be the IT & Tech hub in the middle east, most of the Companies out there are resellers.

Everything is very virtual here. Yes people do use pirated/crack softwares here. I myself do reverse-engineering for testing purpose. But i prefer open source.. Apparently people are now preferring open-source alternatives & or dual lisenced applications. Most of the companies, to keep their IT Standards upto the score use Strictly Legititmate softwares.

My insight is, there is a lack of marketing here. And as i said, the whole software subset is not mature.

What business are you into? I am working on setting up a new startup. May be we could do a merger.
ahamed
Dubai chat master

Jan 17, 2009
ahamed wrote:@pete
@ cad

Hello Guys,