What Would Be My Equivalent Salary In Dubai

Topic locked
What would be my equivalent salary in Dubai Nov 16, 2008
Hey guys,

I thought it would be a good thing to ask how much I would need to earn in Dubai to match what I earn now. As some of you know I'm planning to work in the real estate field and I currently work in the hospitality industry. As someone suggested before, I might want to consider a job in the hospitality industry for a few months if things are really dead real estate wise. I'll break down what I currently earn and the benefits I receive, and if someone could analyze this information and tell me what I would need to ask for in Dubai to be able to afford the same earnings/standard of living.

I actually am surprised I did not think of asking this before, and for some reason I think you guys will be shocked by the salary/benefits difference in the hospitality industry between here (Montreal, Canada) and Dubai.

-Hourly wage: 19.58$CAD/hour (58.75AED/hour) 40 hours a week/52 weeks per year
-Vacation: 3 paid weeks per year
-retirement program : employer contributes 6% of all earned wages and I pitch in another 6%
-8 fully paid sick days per year
-2 "mobile" days off per year (means i can take them whenever i feel like it with 48 hours notice)
-1 day off for my bday and another one for my employment hire date per year
-medical, dental, short term disability, long term disability, travel, and salary insurances
-8 days for the various holidays (those are standard by law so everyone gets them)

I can also refuse shifts, make my own schedules, I take as many breaks as I want to, leave early when the hotel isn't too busy, employer can not call me in for less than 8 hours, I get ultra cheap hotel rooms in top luxury hotels worldwide (including Dubai!) and 50% off the hotel restaurants.